top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngelia James

Tag! You're It!

Updated: Dec 20, 2021

Good day to you all! Due to some unforseen circumstance in this shitty life, I have been challenged to figure out just what and where my passion is...drumroll please....it's MUSIC! There is nothing else that I would rather do than use music to escape the every day grind of life.


I guess I should introduce myself. Hi! I'm Angelia (pronounced Ann-je-lah). Yes, I have to put that out there because I am not an Ann-je-lee-ah. It's a normal thing for me to hear the latter and quite frankly, it's too exhausting to continuously correct. I am the proud mom of three young adults. I say young adults because they are way more put together than I am; even as I'm approaching the big 4-0. My oldest son is 19; middle son is 17 and youngest (lord why did you do me like this) daughter is 16.


My passion for music started when I was younger. Of course, every black southern girl has had her stint in the church choir. For the record, I am openly and freely professing the fact that I cannot sing at all. However, my first love was my clarinet. Oh how I love that thing! I played in band during my junior high years of school. In fact, I was the drum major! I guess my passion for music really started there, because I had two band directors who wanted their students to be nothing but the best. I was the best! First chair always and I won several awards at competitions. But as luck would have it, I had to quit band because my other true love was knocking at the door. Hello, Basketball!


One thing that I will always remember is riding around with older family members and having to hear, which at the time was annoying, their music. Looking back now, that music is my music! I'm eclectic. I'll take some blues, r&b, jazz, symphony, rap, old school rock but ya'll will have to forgive me because that emo stuff is not for me. I cringe upon hearing it for some reason. Maybe one day I'll like it, but it damn sure ain't today.


So, you know I love my music, I love instruments and I'm pretty eclectic. Well let me enlighten you on something else. When my oldest child was in 6th grade, I began playing music for different school events. I say playing music because I had nothing during this time - just a laptop! As luck would have it, I then learned that my uncle worked as a DJ part-time. Now this peaked my interest. I am seriously betting that he is wishing his laptop never crashed so he wouldn't have had to use mine. He did and I WON THE DAMN LOTTERY BECAUSE OF IT!


THIS IS WHEN DJAJ WAS BORN! (so technically in DJ years, I am only 9...go figure). Must be why I am so young at heart!

logo


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page