top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngelia James

The Lab

I recently moved to my forever home. We purchased a doublewide mobile home about five years ago, with the dream of relocating it to my childhood home location. At that time, my parents home (which was dilapidated was still erected on the lot). I will never forget the feeling I had when we began tearing it down to clear the lot. My parents passed a way in 2012; three months to the day between them both. It was gutwrenching. Had that lived, they would have celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary that year. My father passed a way first, then my mother. Before she passed a way, she signed over the home and lot to me so that it could be handed down to my children. I omitted the fact that I am the baby of eight! I took this to heart and really wanted to honor her wishes.


My dad was a hoarder! PERIOD. It took us so much time when we were trying to go through everything. His pride and joy was his shed. In this shed, he had prepared for the Apocolypse. He stored canned goods, had a TV, refrigerators and freezers all in this damn shed. It was a nightmare to clean out....hell, I am still trying to get rid of some of the stuff he had in there.


I decided that I would make this shed my "She-Shed" aka Fox's Boom Boom Room. Granted, after moving the mobile home, we began to remodel the it, so we had a lot of building materials stored in it...therefore, it prolonged my idea.


Fastforward to the present. I spent the better part of a day cleaning up our offsite storage unit so that I would have space to move some of the building materials. Once I got it organized, I then moved over to my shed. It is unbelievable how many old tools my dad still had in the shed. I mean anything you could think of was in there. After finally picking and choosing while organizing and preparing to bid farewell to most of the junk, I was able to situate my table, lamp and chair to give me a quiet place to work; well, semi-quiet because my neighbor's crackheaded dog is always barking but anyways.


I intend on continuing the process of getting rid of the the rest of the clutter to make this my soundproof studio! The shed is so old so I am planning a little construction job for myself! This should be fun! I have already gotten in trouble many times for spending all day in my shed, but hey, it is rather peaceful! Granted, what I really want now is a brand new shed, but that will have to wait until another day! Here's to finally getting my own space! Sometimes we have to use what we have and for now, it'll do!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page