top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngelia James

And it continues....

Updated: Dec 20, 2021

So I have shared with you all my personal passion. So let me elaborate on why this is has become. I have dreamed of the day where I became able to hone into my craft. With working a full-time job, being a mom and being a significant other, there never seemed to be enough time in the day. Looks like time is all I have now. So I thought I would make use of the time.


With that said, let's start by getting into how this really came about. As I first started to DJ live events (sounds more important doesn't it), all I had was my laptop! Thankfully, the place that worked my first gig was at a venue that had it's own speakers and sound system so it was more of a plug and play.


My uncle had downloaded Virtual DJ on my laptop so I used that software to import all of my music in one place. I was constantly downloading music, first starting with the billboard top 100, billboard top songs my genre and then by googling playlists with songs. IT WAS A NIGHTMARE AND SO TIME CONSUMING.


Once I thought I had a suitable library I would stop. This didn't last for long because you will learn that when an event happens, there are always those people who come up and ask if you have this song or that song. At the beginning, I would download the song on site - this was not the way to do it. Being that my started events were high school functions, it was important to make sure that the songs were clean and not obscene. I would take the time to listen to the song before playing it...hence the second nightmare. Gotta multi-task, right? WRONG - don't do it...one song becomes 50 rather quickly.


Best practice - ask the kids ahead of time for a list of songs. Cross-reference that this well ahead of the event! One thing to always do is remember the classics. Like, what do these kids really know about Footloose? I can tell you, they might not know about the song but the beat and their line dance makes it fun for them!


Anything to keep them dancing is a MUST!




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page