top of page
  • Writer's pictureAngelia James

The Jitters

Updated: Dec 19, 2021

Before I perform at any event, I spend the night before going over my playlist extensively to make sure that it flows. Again, this is not fun. However, having a plan going in is the best thing to do. Obviously, make sure that you are prepared for whatever type of event it is.


Short List of Events:


Wedding/Wedding Reception

Prom

Birthday Party - Adult

Birthday Party - Children

Graduation Party

Family Reunion



Get to know your client. Really listen to his or her input regarding what the end goal will be. I know, especially with weddings, timing of songs is imperative but no one wants a DJ who cannot engage with the crowd. NOBODY! Personality is everything!


Now, there are some essentials that will be needed in order to pull this thang off! Don't be like me when I first started and relied heavily on plug and play venues. Take the time to research and understand what equipment you will need to be successful.


Shortlist of Equipment:


Laptop/tablet/iPad

DJ software (Serato, Virtual DJ, Rekordbox)

Controller

Mixer

Microphone(s) - Wireless or wired

Speakers - powered or passive

Speaker Stands

Downloadable music source


Seems like a lot, but you would be surprised what you can find on Ebay or Amazon. Prices vary but it is a great investment if you intend on doing this for the long term. If you are committed to becoming the best, access to youTube tutorials is also helpful. Depending on the software of your choice, there may be an online community that can help you get the most out of your software and system. It all takes time and patience, but it pays off in the end. Of all my years, I think there is only one event that I dreaded, mainly because I knew the crowd and they weren't particularly my favorite, however word of mouth is the best advertising an aspiring dj can have!


Always put your best foot forward!







1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page